Team » Thundercats appears in 219 issues.

    The Thundercats are a group of anthropomorphic felines who fight with The Mutants in the fictional Third Earth world. They are led by Lion-O. Recently they have had books published under Wildstorm.

    Short summary describing this team.

    Thundercats last edited by gravenraven on 07/14/23 09:14PM View full history


    The Thundercats storyline begins with the planet of Thundera. Thundera has inhabitants called the Thundercats who are cat-humanoids. Thundera is ruled by the Lord of the Thundercats, Claudus. As the story opens Thundera is under siege by a race of beings called The Mutants. The Mutants are comprised of a lizard/snake humanoid, an ape humanoid, and a jackal humanoid. Somehow the Mutants are going to blow up Thundera, and the nobles of this world are fleeing in a spaceship. These nobles become the main characters in this series. The Thundercat adults are comprised of Jaga, Tygra, Cheetara, and Panthro. They also brought two children, Wilykit and Wilykat. Finally, the next in line for the Lord of the Thundercats position, a small cub name Lion-o with his chamberlain Snarf. Snarf is a catlike creature whose tail can be used as an extra appendage to balance or grab things with. The nobles enter stasis pods on the ship to allow them to travel without aging while Jaga agrees to fly the ship.

    This ship is being followed by a ship of Mutants and crashes on the planet of Third Earth. All the Thundercats survive except Jaga. He is killed in the crash. Upon coming out of the pods it is discovered that Lion-O’s stasis pods was not working. All of the Thundercats remained the same age during the flight while Lion-O aged to an adult. As an adult he is now the Lord of the Thundercats, and the group decides to remain on Third Earth and build a fortress, called Cat’s Lair.

    Lion-O carries the Eye of Thundera, the source of the Thundercats’ power. The Eye is embedded into the hilt of the Sword of Omens which is wielded and responds to the current Lord of the Thundercats. Lion-O also has a shield called the Thundercats Claw. The Sword of Omens and the Eye of Thundera cannot be used for evil or against the Thundercat.

    The Thundercats learn that Thundera was not fully destroyed and strive to return to search for survivors and the treasure of their people. Upon returning three more Thundercats are discovered. Pumyra, a medic and healer. Bengali, a martial arts specialist. Lynx-O, a blind wise-man. They also find a younger Snarf name Snarfer.

    Major villains


    The Thundercats main villain is an evil being called Mumm-Ra. Mumm-Ra harnesses the power of the Ancient Spirits of Evil to transform him from a frail mummy to an all-powerful being. Mumm-Ra enlists the help of numerous other villains throughout his time battling the Thundercats. Mumm-Ra also employs magic bestowed by the Spirits to trick the Thundercats. Mumm-Ra’s main goal is to obtain The Sword of Omens and the Eye of Thundera embedded in its hilt. Mumm-Ra acquires a sidekick bulldog, Ma-Mutt. Mumm-Ra uses Ma-Mutt to spy and as the focus of many glamors to trick the Thundercats.

    Mutants of Plun-darr:

    The Mutants of Plun-Darr ( Slithe, Jackalman, Monkian) are another villain often harassing the Thundercats. Slithe, a lizard man, is the unofficial leader of this group. They are also joined by two other mutants named Vultureman and Ratar-O. Vultureman is the mechanic and engineer of the group. Ratar-O is a lesser seen member who has a space ship and more feared than the others. They land on Third Earth and create Castle Plun-Darr. From Castle Plun-Darr they employed different tactics to try to gain the Eye of Thundera and the Sword of Omens.


    Later in the series, a group from the moon of Third Earth come to the planet and become a third faction against the Thundercats. This group is called the Lunatacs. The Luntacs is led by Luna. Other members include the following:

    • Tug Mug - Luna’s mount and brutish pet
    • Chilla - a wielder of cold
    • Alluro - a being with the ability to hypnotize with his rod
    • Red-Eye - who can shoot laser beams from his eyes

    Televison Series

    Thundercats (1985)

    Original Thundercats
    Original Thundercats

    The original animated Thundercats series ran from 1985 to 1989 spanning 4 seasons and 125 episodes.

    Including classics like:

    Exodus, The Terror of Hammerhand, Return to Thundera, The Work Out and, The Book of Omens.

    Thundercats (2011)

    The Cartoon Network realeased an updated version of the Thundercats in 2011.

    Cartoon Network
    Cartoon Network

    This version takes place in a distant future on Earth-3 where the Thundercats rule and oppress other animals. Technology has been forgotten and is just mythology to the masses.

    Lion-o is a young unreliable prince with his head in the clouds, but is heir to rulership of the Thundercats.

    Tygra is Lion-o's brother and the favorite son. He and Lion-o are rivals often pushing each other and not seeing eye to eye.

    Panthro is one of greatest generals of The Thundercats, and has been gone for years searching for The Book of Omens.

    Jaga is the High Priest of The Thundercats, He is a mage of sorts and leads his priests in protection of city.

    Cheetara is one of Jagga's priests who befriends Lion-o after saving him from some thugs... twice.

    Wily Cat and Wily Kit are thieves in the slums with dreams of a far off land.

    Snarf is Lion-o's pet cat.


    This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.