The Sandman: Endless Nights #1

    The Sandman: Endless Nights » The Sandman: Endless Nights #1 - OGN released by DC Comics on November 2003.

    Short summary describing this issue.

    OGN last edited by gravenraven on 05/28/23 09:08PM View full history

    Joined by a dream team of artists from around the world, Neil Gaiman--the Hugo Award-winning, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of AMERICAN GODS and CORALINE--returns to the beloved characters he made famous in THE SANDMAN: ENDLESS NIGHTS. Alternately haunting, bittersweet, erotic and nightmarish, the seven stories in this book-one for each of the Endless siblings, each illustrated by a different artist-reveal strange secrets and surprising truths. In addition to the seven tales of the Endless, THE SANDMAN: ENDLESS NIGHTS includes a biography section in the spirit of the Sandman collections (designed by Dave McKean) and a summary of each volume in the Sandman Library.

    • Chapter 1: Death in Venice
    • Chapter 2: What I've Tasted of Desire
    • Chapter 3: The Heart of a Star
    • Chapter 4: Fifteen Portraits of Despair
    • Chapter 5: Going Inside
    • Chapter 6: On the Peninsula
    • Chapter 7: Endless Nights

    Although this book is seven chapters, one for each of The Endless, most of The Endless appear in more stories than just their own:

    • Death: Chapters 1 and 3
    • Desire: Chapters 2 and 3
    • Dream: Chapter 3 (first incarnation) and 5 (second incarnation)
    • Despair: Chapters 3 (first incarnation) and 4 (second incarnation)
    • Delight/Delirium: Chapters 3 (Delight), 5 (Delirium) and 6 (Delirium)
    • Destruction: Chapters 3 and 6
    • Destiny: Chapters 3 and 7
    • Every other character is exclusive to their respective chapter

    User reviews Add new review

    5 (1)
    4 (1)
    3 (0)
    2 (0)
    1 (0)
    4.8 stars

    Average score of 2 user reviews

    The Seven Stories about the Endless! 0

    After reading almost all of Neil Gaiman’s fantastic run on the “Sandman” series (to the point where I called the year 2012 “The Year of the Sandman” since I had spent the year reading the Sandman comics), I wanted to read Neil Gaiman’s latest story on the “Sandman” series, “The Sandman: Endless Nights,” even though “The Sandman: The Wake” was actually considered the final story arc in the “Sandman” series. “The Sandman: Endless Nights,” which is also a Bram Stoker Award winner and a Locus Award ...

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful.
    See all user reviews

    This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.