South Africa

    Location » South Africa appears in 234 issues.

    The southernmost country of the African continent.

    Short summary describing this location.

    South Africa last edited by KillerZ on 11/26/23 09:46AM View full history

    South Africa is a former British colony which achieved self-government in 1910 and full independence in 1961. Several of the European residents descent from older Dutch colonies annexed by the British. The so-called Boers were a mix of Dutch, Flemish, German and French settlers. They resented British rule and fought two wars before self-government was achieved. Modern South Africa has three de facto capitals. Pretoria is the executive capital, Bloemfontein the judicial one and Cape Town the legislative one. The largest city is Johannesburg.

    South Africa borders Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Swaziland and Lesotho.

    South African comics characters:

    Freedom Beast (DC)

    Impala (DC)

    Maggott (Marvel)

    Flintheart Glomgold (Disney)


    This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.