Si-Fan Clan

    Team » Si-Fan Clan appears in 64 issues.

    The most sinister secret society extant. An elite group of ninja assassins. This clan of ninjas followed the orders of Fu Manchu.

    Short summary describing this team.

    Si-Fan Clan last edited by KillerZ on 01/02/22 01:53PM View full history


    Celestial Order of the Si-Fan was created by author Sax Rohmer, and first appeared in his 1913 novel, The Hand of Fu-Manchu (1917) (original UK title: The Si-Fan Mysteries). It is an Asian secret society led by Dr. Fu Manchu.

    Fu Manchu and the Si-Fan were adopted by Marvel under Steve Englehart and Jim Starlin in Special Marvel Edition #15 (1973). However, after Marvel lost the license for the Sax Rohmer estate, Fu Manchu and Si-Fan were identified in continuity under aliases and pseudonyms.

    At Marvel, the Si-Fan gets a modern retelling, being introduced as a ninja clan.


    Its adherants, all at Fu Manchu commands include Dacoits, Phansigars, Thugs, Hashishin, and other more terrible cults.

    Following the death of Fu Manchu, the Si-Fan began taking orders from his successor, his daughter, Fah Lo Suee, then later the Kingpin.

    After the loss of license to Sax Rohmer's books, Marvel used other names to refer to Fu Manchu and Si-Fan, Fu Manchu was called Wang Yu-Seng, Comte de Saint Germain and Han, until he was called after Zheng Zu, Si-Fan came to be called The Celestial Order of the Hai-Dai, in the miniseries Shang-Chi (2020), it was revealed that the organization's real name is the Five Weapons Society, founded by brothers Zheng Zu and Zheng Yi during the Qing Dynasty to defend China, after Yi's death, Zu turned the Society into a criminal organization.

    Other Media

    • The Hand of Fu Manchu (1917) (also known as The Si-Fan Mysteries)
    • Daughter of Fu Manchu (1931)
    • The Mask of Fu Manchu (1932)
    • The Bride of Fu Manchu (1933)
    • The Trail of Fu Manchu (1934)
    • President Fu Manchu (1936)
    • The Drums of Fu Manchu (1939)
    • The Island of Fu Manchu (1940)
    • The Shadow of Fu Manchu (1948)
    • Re-Enter Fu Manchu (1957)
    • Emperor Fu Manchu (1959)

    Fu Manchu novels not by Rohmer

    Ten Years Beyond Baker Street (1984)

    The first of two authorized continuation novels by Cay Van Ash, Sax Rohmer's former assistant and biographer. The novel is set in a narrative gap within The Hand of Fu Manchu and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes story, His Last Bow (both published in 1917). Holmes comes out of retirement to aid Dr. Petrie when Nayland Smith is abducted by the Si-Fan.


    Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

    In the film, the role of Si-Fan is played by the Ten Rings organization, led by Xu Wenwu, a character composed of Mandarin and Zheng Zu.


    This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.