Volume 2 last edited by fables87 on 09/02/18 06:58AM View full history

Collecting all of Mignola's award-winning Hellboy stories in chronological order for a definitive reading experience.

Unaware of his role as Beast of the Apocalypse, Hellboy has his first brushes with the royalty of Hell and the otherworldly Ogdru Hem, while shooting out the Baba Yaga's eye and getting a glimpse of his possible fate in the epic African adventure ''Makoma.''

This 368-page volume covers Hellboy's adventures from 1961 to 1993, leading up to Seed of Destruction. It includes stories from the Hellboy collections The Troll Witch, The Chained Coffin, The Bride of Hell, The Right Hand of Doom, and The Crooked Man, including ''Heads,'' ''Buster Oakley Gets His Wish,'' and ''A Christmas Underground.''


  • The Hydra and the Lion
  • The Troll Witch
  • The Baba Yaga
  • The Sleeping and the Dead
  • Heads
  • Goodbye, Mr. Tod
  • The Varcolac
  • The Vampire of Prague
  • The Bride of Hell
  • The Whittier Legacy
  • Buster Oakley Gets His Wish
  • A Christmas Undergroun
  • Dr. Carp's Experiment
  • The Ghoul, or Reflections on Death and the Poetry of Worms
  • In the Chapel of Moloch
  • Makoma, or A Tale Told by a Mummy in the New York City Explorers' Club on August 16, 1993


none of this issue.


none of this issue.

Story Arcs

none of this issue.

User reviews Add new review

This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.