Is it selfish of me to request to be taken off a shift? (context in the OP)

The_Gaurdian

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By The_Gaurdian

I work as a security guard for UPS where I just sit in a booth and check bags to make sure none of the drivers and warehouse staff steal anything. It's pretty easy, possibly the easiest job in the world but it has a major downside like every job does. Every weekend for the past month my manager and I have taken turns working 3rd shift on Saturday's. The building is closed so for 8 hours it's just me, myself and I. I do perimeter checks on the warehouse doors every hour and a half and usually just use the time to get homework done. There's little to no crime but the environment is generally creepy, especially at night time. The bad part is that not only am I by myself in the event of an emergency, there's ZERO access to the bathrooms of the building I guard. There's a gas station right down the street from us that we're permitted to go to but I don't have a car so I'd have to walk 15 minutes there and back or pay an Uber if the weather's bad. When I reluctantly agreed I voiced my concerns to my supervisors multiple times. They just brushed it off and instead of telling me what the access code is to the building since it's just me they basically told me without saying it directly "sounds like a you problem" There's technically supposed to be 2 guards on this shift but due to cutbacks on hours and their own laziness they've just stuck me here with no intention of making it any better. I'll be texting my manager sometime tomorrow to tell him I'd like to not work this shift anymore but part of me feels guilty for not toughing it out but I'm fed up that they put me on this shift knowing how I feel about it. Any advice for how to go about this would be appreciated here.

Alavanka

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Alavanka