I have a chess question

Avatar image for arranvidreturns
ArranVidReturns

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I like chess a lot. The image below shows how the pieces were finally placed in a game between Bobby Fischer (white) and Tigran Petrosian (black). This game happened in Round 7 of the Petrosian Candidates Final, Buenos Aires ARG (19th Oct 1971, ECO:B42). The website showing this game says that Bobby Fischer (white) won. Please can someone tell me how white is in a winning position here? Tigran Petrosian has a cool name btw lol

No Caption Provided

Khael

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

There's already a chess thread. Imo the white needs one more move to checkmate. But it's already a win win situation, I'm not really good at this though.

anthp2000

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 anthp2000  Moderator  Online

This doesn't make sense. The king can still move a position to the right freely, and with the black tower taking out the white tower afterwards, it's far from a checkmate anymore.

I've been in some chess tournaments before, winning a couple of bronze and sliver medals and there are numerous potential ways for the black side to win here.

Are you sure the white side didn't run out of time or something? Official matches have strict timers.

laughingbatman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By laughingbatman

This doesn't make sense. The king can still move a position to the right freely, and with the black tower taking out the white tower afterwards, it's far from a checkmate anymore.

I've been in some chess tournaments before, winning a couple of bronze and sliver medals and there are numerous potential ways for the black side to win here.

Are you sure the white side didn't run out of time or something? Official matches have strict timers.