How should I (or you) respond to bigotry (homophobia)?

• 88 results
Avatar image for deactivated-5c07a0327fd39
deactivated-5c07a0327fd39

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

No Caption Provided

So I am a neuroscience student, who, for an assessment, made a video on YouTube discussing neurogenesis in the hippocampus for depressed patients. I'm also a gay guy and talk with a slightly effeminate voice.

Someone replied with (language) "[mod edit] kill yourself" which is ironic considering the aforementioned topic of depression.

I'm not offended- just perplexed how someone like that would wind up on such an esoteric field and respond with such vulgarness. I'm also a little worried that some people may not take me seriously in the workforce because of who I am.

I know this is a strange topic for ComicVine but I want my Viner's opinions.

Have you ever faced bigotry such as racism or sexism? How would/did you respond?

Avatar image for deactivated-5b5405244e89c
deactivated-5b5405244e89c

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 6

Memes

Avatar image for itouchedtheboat
ITouchedTheBoat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

I've been dealing with hate speech my whole life and I heard disrespectful comments about my race throughout my entire time in grade school (school was predominately white, and those kids loved making sure we remembered that). From what I can say based on my experience is as long as nobody is being physically hurt, or are being treated like a lesser being (not including stupid insults or offensive behaviour) there isn't a reason to acknowledge it. Just walk away or say something back that would leave them silent (I guess a witty response).

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@itouchedtheboat: Still, it's disconcerting to think that people still judge others based on the amount of melanin in one's skin. I worry about humanity.

Avatar image for deactivated-5ebcd5ad9fb95
deactivated-5ebcd5ad9fb95