Can an atheist believe in reincarnation?

catlike

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Basically as the title asks. I ask this question in the religion thread because I don't think any one would have been willing to respond or would have taken my question seriously. But I'm legitimately curious as to what the Vine thinks, and I am not trolling.

Thank you,

Catlike

BumpyBoo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 20

#2 BumpyBoo  Moderator

Sure, if reincarnation isn't facilitated by a higher power or being and instead has some kind of scientific or organic explanation. That's my gut reaction anyway. Not an expert.

reactor

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@bumpyboo said:

Sure, if reincarnation isn't facilitated by a higher power or being and instead has some kind of scientific or organic explanation. That's my gut reaction anyway. Not an expert.

I'm not an expert either, but that sounds a bit... incompatible.

BumpyBoo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 BumpyBoo  Moderator

@reactor: How so? I mean doesn't being an atheist just mean you don't believe in any kind of god? Genuinely asking.

Avatar image for deactivated-61919ebe21493
deactivated-61919ebe21493

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

reactor

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6  Edited By reactor

@bumpyboo said:

@reactor: How so? I mean doesn't being an atheist just mean you don't believe in any kind of god? Genuinely asking.

Basically, yeah. In colloquial ways, it often has a broader application than that, ie; disbelief in anything in the supernatural or metaphysical avenues. I have a hard time imagining the concept of reincarnation not being linked to that, and thus I can't see how someone who is atheistic could believe that something physical of them survives immaterially only to come about in a new physical form.