James Tynion IV & Rian Sygh Reveal 5 Things You Need to Know About THE BACKSTAGERS

gmanfromheck

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 472

User Lists: 2

Edited By gmanfromheck

James Tynion IV has written several series at BOOM! Studios including The Woods, UFOlogy, and Memetic. While The Woods is still ongoing, and he's also working on Detective Comics at DC, he has another series coming up through BOOM! With Rian Sygh on art, we'll see the first issue of The Backstagers on sale this week.

What is The Backstagers all about? James and Rian tell us Five Things You Need to Know about The Backstagers.

No Caption Provided

The Power of Friendship

James: It was about a year and a half ago that I started talking to Shannon Watters, who runs the BOOM! Box line at BOOM! Studios, about developing my first all-ages series, one that had been in the back of my mind for a long, long time. When I was a freshman in high school, I had this idea in my head what being a young guy was supposed to be. I was supposed to look a certain way, act a certain way, like certain things... And I just didn’t hit any of the checkmarks. I had just started out at an All-Boys High School, and I thought I would never fit in anywhere. It wasn’t until I was dragged along to a stage crew meeting after school that I saw a whole different world I could be a part of. The Stage Crew kids were ALL weirdos, and they LIKED the fact that I didn’t really fit in anywhere else. They introduced me to a whole different level of male friendship, a bunch of sensitive geeky kids who didn’t like the spotlight. I never would have survived high school without them, and that was the real inception for this series.