Posted by Veshark (10499 posts) - - Show Bio
No Caption Provided

It's currently 5AM in the morning, I've been awake for nineteen hours, and I'm buzzed off a cup of warm french roast. So I figured there's no better way to convert this caffeinated energy into something productive than to write yet another superhero comic-book blog list!

Now as some of you may know, I'm an amateur/aspiring comic-book penciller. It's something I've always wanted to pursue, ever since I picked up that fateful copy of Moon Knight Vol. 1 The Bottom as a kid--a decision I made solely because of the awesome David Finch cover. I loved to write (as evidenced by my many rambling blogs on CV), I had some modicum of artistic talent, and I loved superheroes. So drawing superhero comics always seemed like an ideal, no-brainer career path for me.

I've only recently started taking this dream of drawing superhero comics seriously. I've begun to do research on the business, to work on my portfolio, and the realization of just how difficult it is to break into mainstream American comics is definitely hitting me me hard. Truth be told, it's all a little overwhelming and I'm doubtful I'll ever reach a professional level. That said, it hasn't stopped me from trying yet, and a big part of improving my craft is to study the art of superhero comics...

Or rather, to study the superhero comic artists whose work I admire and appreciate; the creators who have brought some of the finest stories of our chosen genre to life with their panels and pencils. These are the artistic greats whose work I try to emulate, the guys who inspire me to pursue my creative passion.

Superhero comic artists aren't just artists, you have to realize. They're costume designers, and architects, and engineers, and directors...but above all else, they're storytellers. Here are my top ten favorite superhero comic artists of all-time:

10: Howard Porter

No Caption Provided