• 57 results
inferiorego

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 324

User Lists: 12

Edited By inferiorego  Staff

As many people my age, my work history is a collection of weird, spur-of-the-moment jobs I took just because I needed to make money. Before I got into my career as a writer and journalist, I had quite a few part time jobs in high school and through college: movie theater idiot employee, pizza delivery scumbag driver, toy store "manager," and I even worked at a arcade, fixing games and yelling obscenities because I didn't have electrical training.

One job I worked through during my college years and still work at once a year (James Brown Christmas Eve as I call it) is at a local comic shop. It's the job I've stunk at the least, aside from maybe this one. However, my first few weeks, I realized the job was nothing like I expected. Working at a comic book shop, and even a chain comic shop like I did, was different that a lot of retail experiences I had. While most people walk into a comic shop and think it's going to be a lot like Comic Book Guy on the Simpsons, it really isn't like that at all. In my years of working at the store, I learned there are a ton of thing quite different about this place.

7. Pre-ordering Comics is the Most Important Thing in the World

No Caption Provided

Before I started working at my local shop, I had a pull list with about 10 books on it. I rarely changed up my pull list or added or dropped things. If I was interested in an upcoming book, I'd never pre-order and just check it out when it came out. Many times, because I visited my store on Saturdays, I'd miss out on a lot of books. When I started working at my LCS and saw "how the sausage was made," I became a dude who pushed pre-ordering books on everyone.