The Man in the Captain America Mask

Sonic_Yute

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Sonic_Yute

[This story is set shortly after the events of Avengers # 500. This is my first attempt at fan fiction on this site; constructive criticism is appreciated].

Not for the first time that day, Bob Russo lit a cigarette. Thirty years ago, he would never have even considered smoking, but the world had turned upside down and this seemed to be the only way for him to keep his nerves steady. His father’s eyes stared at him from the obituary Bob had clipped from The Daily Bugle thirteen years before. The paper had started to yellow with age and from the nicotine clouds that hung heavy in the barroom air, but the picture had not lost its power to make him feel inferior.

“Hey, can I get another pitcher over here?”

A cute twenty-something with one side of her head shaved—what was that hairstyle called?—watched him from the other end of the bar. Bob couldn’t name any songs by Panic at the Disco!, but she apparently liked them enough to wear their t-shirt. The girl seemed out of place in his bar, but who was he to judge? Ten years ago and he would have handed her his phone number with the pitcher and done his damnedest to see that shirt on his bedroom floor. Now he just gave her the beer, took her money, and wrote it off as another meaningless interaction among the dozens he had each day. She returned to an empty booth in the corner.