wildvine

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 50

#1  Edited By wildvine  Moderator

//Next >>

The adventurous village idiot, Nate Dragon, stared hard at the village quest board, but alas, no new and more interesting quests magically manifested themselves from the air. A not-quite-impossible consideration really, given the strange things that actually did tend to happen in this world. Nate was an adventurer by trade, mostly due to a lack of formalized schooling, a bit of privileged upbringing and a general disposition towards bombastic, physically stimulating activities, often irregardless of logic or degrees of danger.

For this reason his sister, Natalie Dragon, had made it a regular habit to visit the quest board early in the morning and take the most dangerous quests for herself. It may also have had something to do with the high-yield reward returns, but mostly it was out of altruistic concern for her dumb brother. Mostly. Probably.

"Wait a minute! Are you telling me that's why there's no fun quests for me?" Nate was understandably upset by this incidental revelation by the narrator, who was totally innocent of any wrongdoing in this situation. "How long has THIS been going on for?"

Technically I didn't tell you. I was just narrating the scene, and adding some much needed context to the start of this tale. As for how long... Eh, couple weeks? When was the last town meeting again?

"That long? Man! If Grandma Bernadette didn't desperately need these dumb old berries, I would make up a real adventure for myself." Nate ripped the quest note off the board and stomped his way into the forest appropriately named, The Shady Forest. However the quest was a baby quest for baby-babies, and Nate was just a notch above baby in the category of adventuring, so he occupied a large amount of the mission's time pouting and complaining. We'll skip most of that. You're welcome.