Avatar image for knightofthechronicle
knightofthechronicle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 3

Chapter 3: Job Placement

So…things have been slow. Not for the city, though. I keeping hearing about the Response doing their hero shtick all over Indigo, Peacekeeper raising hell on the streets, and enough Carrier attacks to make any sane person want to move as far away from this city as possible (still haven’t figured out why no one does though). For me, though, I’ve been stuck at CBTF headquarters for months now, training. It’s a sweet gig, I’m not complaining. The apartment I’ve got here is better than my old one (this giant skyscraper doesn’t ONLY have offices), I’m an official CBTF agent (got a badge to prove it), and the food is decent. The only problem?

“I’m starting to get cabin fever and it sucks.” The woman across from me writes that down on her notepad, like it’s the first time I’m telling that to her. “You do realize that’s the same thing I told you last time, right?”

“Mmhmm.”

“Great, just checking.” I lean back in my chair and start twirling my finger, snowflakes beginning to dance around it. “Can you please tell me what the point of all of this is?”

“We have to make sure you’re the right man for the job, Mr. Kern.” She says, watching my little flurry show with more annoyance than anything else.

“Pfeiffer said I was the PERFECT man for the job,” I retort, getting annoyed myself. “I literally fell into your lap.”

“You’re arrival at the CBTF was a matter of luck,” the woman says. “For you. Just because you fit the bill doesn’t mean you’re right to go into the field.”

I catch the jab at the fact that I’d be dead if it wasn’t for the freak show they have locked up downstairs. Bubeck’s face runs through my mind and it makes me stop twirling snowflakes out of fright. I look at the woman and notice that the same look of annoyance on her face is the same as it face she’s had on ever since I’ve met her.