Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 324

User Lists: 12

Edited By inferiorego  Staff
Colossus by Mattias Fahlberg
Colossus by Mattias Fahlberg

If there's one thing you can say about Colossus' outfit, it's an iconic costume. While he's had a few different wardrobe changes throughout the years, currently, he's back to wearing the same outfit he appeared in back in 1975 in GIANT-SIZED X-MEN #1. Along with that red and gold outfit comes that crop-top haircut. Colossus has been keeping it "high and tight" for decades, except during the "bald is beautiful" era.

Looking at Colossus right now, he doesn't look too bad, but the problem is that everyone else around him has gotten some sort of overhaul and looks contemporary, while Colossus still looks like a costumed hero from the 70s. I'm no fashion expert, but I have seen a lot of pre-award show red carpet interviews where Joan Rivers let us know who looked fabulous and who looked atrocious. I think that gives me enough credibility to let you know why Colossus needs and update.

4. It Makes No Sense

No Caption Provided

While what we see here is an updated, sleeker version of his outfit, the original has these giant shoulder pads that make no sense at all. They stick out like a sore thumb. However, that's not what makes no sense about this outfit. First and foremost, he's wearing armor on top of his armor-plated skin. It's like giving Colossus the powers of Juggernaut... oh... wait... In other interpretations, he's wearing cloth, not armor, which, again, doesn't make sense. Why even wear a shirt at all when your skin is organic steel?