The Dwayne McDuffie wiki last edited by aphillips17 on 04/20/17 03:57PM View full history



Dwayne Glenn McDuffie was born on February 20th 1962 in Detroit, Michigan. McDuffie got his first breakthrough in the comic book industry at Marvel Comics in 1988 with a mini-series he created called Damage Control, a construction crew that specializes in property damage caused by conflicts between superheroes and supervillains.

Milestone Media

"If you do a black character or a female character or an Asian character, then they aren't just that character. They represent that race or that sex, and they can't be interesting because everything they do has to represent an entire block of people. You know, Superman isn't all white people and neither is Lex Luthor. We knew we had to present a range of characters within each ethnic group, which means that we couldn't do just one book. We had to do a series of books and we had to present a view of the world that's wider than the world we've seen before."

In the early 1990s, McDuffie and two partners founded Milestone Comics as a response to cultural mistreatment in comic books. In 1993, the first few titles ( Static Shock, Icon, Hardware, the Blood Syndicate, etc) were published due to a deal with DC Comics. His goal was to help promote cultural diversity in comic books without promoting stereotypes. The character he is probably most noted for is Static Shock. Eventually, Static would appear as a temporary Teen Titan in the comics.

Talented Writer

McDuffie went on to write for many different comics and animated television series. His creation, Static Shock, was created into an animated television show and premiered in 2000. He also worked on shows such as Teen Titans, Justice League (the Animated Series), What's New Scooby-Doo, Ben 10 Alien Force and Ultimate Alien, and DC's animated movies Justice League: Crisis on Two Earths, All-Star Superman, and Justice League: Doom. McDuffie was also a freelance writer for comic books such as Justice League of America, Firestorm, and many more titles from DC Comics.


Sadly, Dwayne McDuffie passed away on Feburary 21st, 2011 due to complications from an emergency heart surgery in Burbank, California. He is survived by his wife Charlotte Fullerton, and his half-brother Keegan-Michael Key.

RIP Dwayne McDuffie
RIP Dwayne McDuffie

This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.