Follow

Avengers

Team » Avengers appears in 7702 issues.

The Avengers are Earth's mightiest heroes and foremost super-team... "There came a day, a day unlike any other, when Earth's mightiest heroes found themselves united against a common threat. On that day, the Avengers were born - to fight the foes no single super hero could withstand! Heed the call, then - for now, the Avengers Assemble!"

best place to start reading avengers

BlurredVisionz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By BlurredVisionz

hi i'm new to avengers i was wondering wheres a good place to start reading for a new reader other then the marvel now stuff i wanna get a lil history

MrArrogant

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By MrArrogant

It depends what kind of books you feel like reading; if you like classic super hero action I'd recommend picking up Kurt Busiek Avengers books. You can pick them up for about 30 bucks each from a comic story (I got mine on holiday in New York!) and it chock full of everything you could want it terms of good old fashioned super heroics. It can feel a little bit dated though so be wary of that.

Another accessible point is all the Bendis Avengers stuff; the guy gets a lot of flack but I think he's a great writer and did some really great stuff during his 8 year run. He was also pretty much in control of the marvel universe during this time, so it spins off into a lot of great marvel universe stories as well, so you get a lot of that history you're looking for.

Picking up the Bendis stuff can be pretty tricky, but this list ought to help you find your way through the books, with good starting points and what books to get next if you like what you're reading:

http://acomicbookblog.com/2011/06/avengers-where-to-start-reading/

Hope you have the budget for these books! And it's good to have a new reader in the fold!

reignmaker

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4