2000 AD #500

    2000 AD » 2000 AD #500 - Prog 500 released by Rebellion on December 13, 1986.

    Short summary describing this issue.

    No recent wiki edits to this page.

    Behind the glossiest cover yet (by 20 of the comics top artists) lies an all-new line-up of stories to celebrate the 500 prog achievement (with the exception of Nemesis which continues from prog 487).

    This prog also includes the scandalous 'Tharg's Head Revisited' - a five page free-for-all starring a cast of thousands, where the cream of the comics creators vent their frustrations about character rights, artists disappearing to America and reprint fees.

    Pat Mills and Mike McMahon's original page had to be rewritten and redrawn as their first attempt (Dredd and the bloodsuckers) criticised artists who swiped from other artists...

    Cover: Artists of 2000AD (see below)

    • Slaine - The King (part 1) (Pat Mills - Glenn Fabry)
    • D.R and Quinch (half page panel celebrating 500 issues) (art: Alan Davis)
    • Bad Company (part 1) (Peter Milligan - Brett Ewins and Jim McCarthy)
    • Judge Dredd - The Witness (part 1) (John Wagner and Alan Grant - Brendan McCarthy)
    • Nemesis the Warlock - book six: Torquemurder (part 7) (Pat Mills - Bryan Talbot)
    • Tharg's Head Revisited page 1 (Pat Mills - Dave Gibbons)
    • Tharg's Head Revisited page 2 (Alan Moore - Ian Gibson)
    • Tharg's Head Revisited page 3 (Pat Mills and Mike McMahon - Mike McMahon
    • Tharg's Head Revisited page 4 (Steve MacManus and Simon Geller - Cam Kennedy)
    • Tharg's Head Revisited page 5 (Pat Mills - Kevin O'Neill)

    2000AD's souvenir cover (from the back cover - top left to right):

    • Judge Hershey (Brian Bolland)
    • Ro-Jaws and Torquemada (Kevin O'Neill)
    • Dan Dare (Dave Gibbons)
    • Hammerstein (Steve Dillon)
    • Judge Death (Cliff Robinson)
    • Ace Garps (Massimo Belardinelli)
    • Judge Anderson (Barry Kitson)
    • Kano (Brett Ewins)
    • Swifty (Brendan McCarthy)
    • Bad City Blue (Robin Smith)
    • Mean Machine Angel (Ron Smith)
    • Nemesis the Warlock (Bryan Talbot)
    • Slaine (Glenn Fabry)
    • Halo Jones (Ian Gibson)
    • Rogue Trooper (Cam Kennedy)
    • Fink Angel and Ratty (Mike McMahon)
    • Tharg the Mighty (Eric Bradbury)
    • D.R. and Quinch (Alan Davis)
    • Judge Dredd (John Higgins)
    • Johnny Alpha (Carlos Ezquerra)


    none of this issue.


    none of this issue.


    none of this issue.


    none of this issue.

    Story Arcs

    none of this issue.

    User reviews Add new review

    This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.