The Valiant wiki last edited by Xwraith on 05/11/15 01:09PM View full history

This article is separated into 3 main sections highlighting the 3 incarnations of the Valiant Universe:

  1. Valiant Universe: The Beginning by Voyager Communications (~1989-95)
  2. Acclaim Universe: The Acclaim Years by Acclaim Entertainment (~1996-2005)
  3. Valiant Universe: Again! by Valiant Entertainment (2007-present)

Note: Acclaim revamped all series and characters to make them more suitable for their video games. The 3rd incarnation by Valiant Entertainment mostly continues from the 1st incarnation and original characters with a few exceptions such as Quantum & Woody.

Valiant Universe: The Beginning (~1989-95)

During Solar, Man of the Atom, it was revealed that Solar created the Valiant Universe when he was trying to recreate the one he destroyed. The Valiant Universe contained two groups, those which took place in the 20th century (at that time the present), and those that took place in the 41st century, with events in the present day having an effect on the latter. After several successful bi-monthly sales of titles such as X-O Manowar, Shadowman, and Harbinger, and a company wide crossover in which the two groups learned of each others existence, Valiant was officially bought out by Acclaim in 1994, and as of 1996 all Valiant comics had been discontinued.

List of the most important Valiant characters and heroes of the first Valiant Universe:

Note: Solar & Magnus had been properties of and first released by Gold Key Comics in 1962 and 1963 respectively. Turok was originally released in 1954 by Dell Comics. All the other listed characters are original characters created by Valiant.

Acclaim Universe: The Acclaim Years (~1996-2005)

In 1996, many Valiant properties were revamped under the new Acclaim Comics imprint. Though originally there was no connection between the Valiant and the Acclaim universes, it was eventually revealed that the latter was created yet again by Solar, but this time he had created a "time paradox". By 1999, most of the line had been cancelled, and Acclaim released the event known as Unity 2000, which was an attempt to merge the two universes. By 2005 Acclaim filed for bankruptcy effectively ending all titles under the Valiant and Acclaim imprints. In 2005 the rights to Solar, Magnus the Robot Fighter, and Turok were reverted back to their previous owners Gold Key Comics.

List of the most important characters published by Acclaim:

Note: Magnus, Solar, and Turok had originally been properties of Gold Key Comics and Dell Comics respectively but are revamped from the 1st incarnation of the Valiant Universe; see note above.

Valiant Universe: Again! (2007-present)

In 2007, the rights to Valiant were bought from Acclaim, and Valiant Entertainment was established. Long-time editor-in-chief Jim Shooter left the company in late 2009 when he was sued by Valiant Entertainment when he accepted a contract with Dark Horse Comics over Gold Key Comics characters such as Solar, while still employed with Valiant. May 2nd, 2012 saw the launch of The Summer of Valiant with the first release of a Valiant Entertainment comic in X-O Manowar.

Currently there are nine titles under the Valiant logo:

Upcoming titles in 2014 (in order of their release):

  • Armor Hunters (crossover event; June-September)
  • The Delinquentes (ongoing series; August)
  • The Death-Defying Dr. Mirage (ongoing series; September)

Harbinger Wars - the first crossover (2013):

In April 2013, the Harbinger Wars featured the first brutal collision between Harbinger and Bloodshot. The crossover took place in three titles -- Harbinger Wars #1-4, Harbinger #11-14, and Bloodshot #10-13 -- and had all-new jumping-on points with standalone story arcs starting in:

Unity - the first team book:

Unity will bring some of the most uncompromising Valiant characters together -- Tony Harada, Livewire, Gilad the Eternal Warrior, and Ninjak -- to stop another hero gone rogue, X-O Manowar. This is a brand new team and ongoing series. Unity will be written by Matt Kindt and illustrated by Doug Braithwaite.

Armor Hunters - the second crossover (2014):

Armor Hunters will be an 18-issues crossover event featuring many of the Valiant characters and focusing on a group of alien warriors in pursuit of all powered armor, like the X-O Manowar Armor suit, with only one goal -- to destroy it and its bearer!

The event will see three new limited series and will also tie-in to Unity and X-O Manowar.

  • Prelude to Armor Hunters: X-O Manowar #23-25
  • Main event (June-September 2014):
    • Armor Hunters #1-4
    • Armor Hunters: Bloodshot #1-3
    • Armor Hunters: Harbinger #1-3
    • Unity #8-11
    • X-O Manowar #26-29

This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.