First Question: Why are there no Autistic superheros

• 50 results
CreedLeaderDP

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hi. this is my first time here so whish me luck. I want to ask you why are there no people with autism that are superheros. I mean is autism still new or is autism not main stream. The reason I say it is because I'm Autistic and I want just want to know.

Cull_Obsidian

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@creedleaderdp: Well it depends of the severity of the autism , I have some family member with very very severe autism and without sounding offensive they just wouldn't be able to function with a superpower , they are in there 20s but need round the clock care and have the minds of a 2year old , its very sad , but there are people like your self that have mild autism (I'm presuming as I don't know you)and have a disorder called Asperger syndrome where for the most part they can function in society but the draw back is they can be emotionally unstable and not understand social situations or emotions very well , whereas a superhero needs to have a very strong moral compass and be emotionally strong , not saying it couldn't happen but the writers tends to stay away so they don't cause offence if its not portrayed properly,

Welcome to the vine man ?

Jonez_

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

What do you mean? Every hero Scott Lobdell has written has had autism.

Jonez_

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

But seriously, it's just too controversial.

Avatar image for deactivated-5c901e667a76c
deactivated-5c901e667a76c

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#5  Edited By deactivated-5c901e667a76c  Moderator

This is my guess:

Superheroes are supposed to be likable, and autistic people are unfortunately not seen as likable.

bobthened

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Batman is arguably on the autistic spectrum.

Avatar image for thatguywithheadphones
thatguywithheadphones

Forum Posts

Wiki Points